IBERFAULT 2022 – Scientific Congress

(Zaragoza. Wednesday, September 1, 2022). IBERFAULT is a scientific congress on geology that is held every four years in a different part of Spain.

This 2022 edition, which will be held from September 7 to 10 in the town of Teruel, will bring together people dedicated to the study of active faults, paleoseismology and other related disciplines. The meeting is a forum for the presentation of works carried out in the Iberian Peninsula on any topic in this field: structure and morphotectonics of active faults, paleoseismology, archeoseismology, historical and instrumental seismicity, geological-environmental effects of earthquakes, seismotectonics, current movements and its monitoring, geophysical prospecting applied to the knowledge of active faults, seismic danger, etc. through the presentation of oral and poster communications, as well as conferences and round tables. There is also room for works with an informative profile, and we will take the opportunity to discuss issues of common interest to this research community.

The Teruel environment meets exceptional conditions for the observation and study of active extensional faults. There are two main faults: the Concud fault, running NW-SE that turns N-S in its southern segment, and the Teruel fault, which crosses the town center heading N-S. Both faults are relieved to the north of the city, with a distance of around 1 km between them. The Concud fault presents very good outcrop conditions at several points along its route, particularly on the Vía Verde (former Ojos Negros-Sagunto railway line) in the Los Baños area, and next to the roundabout of the north access to Teruel from the Mudejar Highway. To get to know the area, IBERFAULT proposes two excursions in this edition: on September 8 there will be a visit to the Concud fault near Teruel, and on September 10, a general tour of the eastern margin of the Jiloca basin (Sierra Palomera and Calamocha faults) and Calatayud basin (Río Grío-Pancrudo fault zone). Both will be organized by José Luis Simón, in collaboration with other members of the active tectonics team at the University of Zaragoza (Alba Peiro, Luis E. Arlegui, Lope Ezquerro, Paloma Lafuente, Carlos L. Liesa, Aránzazu Luzón and Óscar Pueyo).

The organizing committee for this edition includes members of the Geotransfer research group, attached to the University Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (IUCA) of the University of Zaragoza, as well as researchers from the Universities of Alicante, Granada, and the Autonomous University of Madrid. , the Complutense University of Madrid, the NOVA University of Lisbon and professionals from the Geological and Mining Institute of Spain (IGME) and ADIF.

More information about IBERFAULT 2022